Full Eurosurf 2013 results

Eurosurf 2013 results have the French team being crowned the new European surf champions. French surfers also finished first in the male and female surf open divisions. Former reigning champs Portugal were beaten out by both France and Portugal, though they did manage to secure a couple of gold medals.

One surprise among the Eurosurf 2013 results, which unfolded at Santa Barbara Beach on the beautiful green island of São Miguel in the Azores, Portugal, was the strong showing of the Channel Islands, who came 4th just after Portugal’s 3rd place. For Portugal, perhaps finishing third on home turf after coming into the competition as Eurosurf 2011 champions is a bit of a let down. Nonetheless, Eurosurf 2013 results weren’t all bad for the incumbents. Hugo Pinheiro finished first in the male bodyboarding category and Ruben Gonzalez won the surf senior (over 28) division. Other categories with strong showings by Portuguese surfers were the surf master (over 35) division, which saw Rodrigo Herédia take silver, and women’s bodyboard, in which Catarina Sousa took bronze. So although Eurosurf 2013 results held no repeat of Portugal’s triumph, it was no disaster either.

Gonzales, who is no stranger to Eurosurf gold, had this to say about the competition:

I won at Eurosurf when I was 16 years old and to return and win now in the senior division is great. Obviously, I would have liked if Portugal had won the team title, since we brought a very strong team with the capacity to win every division, but this is not always possible. What I take from here, more than the titles, is the group spirit and spending time with the team. It was beautiful to see Hugo Pinheiro celebrate his win while still in the water and this gave me the inspiration to get in and win.

(my translation from an report in Portuguese appearing on Record)

Eurosurf 2013 results

São Miguel, Azores. Pic: Site Viagens (Flickr CC)

Check out the (almost) complete Eurosurf 2013 results below (via Surfer Today):

Teams: 1. France 2. Spain 3. Portugal 4. Channel Islands

Surfing Men: 1. Vincent Duvignac (FRA) 2. Gony Zubizarreta (SPA) 3. Vicente Romero (SPA) 4. Joan Duru (SPA)

Surfing Women: 1. Alizée Arnaud (FRA) 2. Maud Le Car (FRA) 3. Garazi Sanchez (SPA) 4. Adelina Taylor (SPA)

Longboarding: 1. Ben Skinner (CI) 2. Remi Arauzo (FRA) Jeremy Massiere (FRA) 4. Alberto Fernandez (SPA)

Bodyboarding Men: Hugo Pinheiro (POR)

Bodyboarding Women: Alexandra Rinder (DEU)

Surf Senior: Ruben Gonzalez (POR)

Surf Master: Dani Garcia (SPA)

For more info on Eurosurf 2013, including video of competition highlights, visit the website of the European Surfing Federation.

This entry was posted in Weekly Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.